• No Obligation
  • Save up to 35% online
Get a FREE Quote

European Golfer of the Year award is shared

Golf InsuranceFor the first time this year’s European Golfer of the Year award will be shared by two golfers.

The golfers picking up the award are PGA winner Martin Kaymer and US Open champion Graeme McDowell.

While some see the decision to give the award to two golfers as a cop out the body behind the award insists that it was a fair draw. With the panel of judges and golfing media that decided the award scoring the two golfers equally.

McDowell and Kaymer claim the award from a shortlist that included Open champion Louis Oosthuizen and the current world number one Lee Westwood.

Despite an outstanding year by both Oosthuizen and Westwood the pairs season was blighted by injury and it was Kaymers and McDowell’s consistent form which earned them the award.

Kaymer won more tournaments than McDowell and finished higher in the worlds rankings. However, McDowell became the first European to win the US Open in 40 years and played a vital role in the Europe’s victory in the Ryder cup.

If you are looking for golf insurance make sure you visit E&L. We offer comprehensive golf insurance covering golf equipment, public liability, accidental property damage and we will even cover the round of drinks if you get a hole in one in a recognised club competition.  Visit www.eandl.co.uk/leisure-and-lifestyle/golf-insurance for a quotation and online discount.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *